Using Voice Commands to Type

Michael B. Musgrove
6 min readAug 1, 2021

As much as I write, I often think there may be a better way to put my thoughts to page. Some of my best thoughts come to me when I’m exercising or unable to type. And I have apps and systems in place so when that happens I can immediately stop, and ask Siri or Google to take a note for me. But that’s still not ideal.

I’ve messed with Dragon Dictation over a decade ago, maybe even twenty years ago. The problem then was the software/AI wasn’t ready for primetime and I still had a pretty stiff southern accent which the AI was unable to decipher. My accent has faded from being in Kentucky for more years than I care to count, and the AI has gotten better so I’m trying to get back in the saddle and see what happens.

There are several programs I use to write text into. I sometimes use the WordPress native editor and the Divi theme editor, along with the Extra Theme which is what I’m currently using here. Divi always wants to compete with the WordPress editor. Why Elegant Themes, the maker of Divi, which is a structural framework I often use, and sometimes not, won’t program their editor to play more nicely with the native WordPress editor is beyond me. You have to choose one or the other and if you mistakenly toggle between the two, prepare for disaster and frustration.

So to avoid that scenario, sometimes I use Ulysses, which is a dedicated editor…

--

--

Michael B. Musgrove

Featured in HBR (Oct. 11), MBA, published author and marketing professor. To start with.